Skip to content

The 5 Earths

Cinque Terre is a national park in Liguria, a region in the northwest of Italy situated just south of Genova. It is not only a national park but home to five distinct villages, also called “Cinque Terre” – the five villages – by locals and foreigners alike. These places are called Vernazza, Riomaggiore, Monterosso, Corniglia and Manarola. So what’s so special about them? For a long period of time they were only reachable from the sea by boat, nowadays there is a train line connecting all of them, and the time to go from one to the other is usually just a couple of minutes. Imagine a subway line, but instead of connecting different neighbourhoods of one city you can be in different towns along a beautiful coast in mere minutes. Another possibility to travel between these places is to hike. That’s one of the major reasons why people like to come to Cinque Terre, they hike from one place to the other and take the train back later on. It’s so incredibly easy!